Essex County Fire and Rescue Service


Long Service and Good Conduct Medals

Fire Officers who have served 20 years in the fire service were presented with Long Service and Good Conduct Medals at a special ceremony held at Southend Fire Station, on Wednesday March 18.

Fire officers honoured were: Divisional Officer Moira Bruin, Firefighter Shaun Cornish, Sub Officer Gary Shinn, Station Officer Richard Green, Sub Officer Marc Diggory, Firefighter David Pooley, Sub Officer Sean Norris, Firefighter Michael Beaton, Firefighter Wayne Geraghty, Leading Firefighter Vincent Taylor, Sub Officer Keith Ray, Leading Firefighter Dan Trendell, Firefighter Nigel Balls, Station Officer Daron Driscoll, Senior Divisional Officer Matt Furber, Station Officer Peter Donovan, and Station Officer Al Green.

Sub Officer Colin Brooks, of Corringham Fire Station, was presented with a special certificate in recognition of 30 years’ service.

A Chief Fire Officer’s Commendation was presented to Frederic Easlea, who pulled an 82 year-old man out of a burning building in Trinity Road, Southend, last November.

A special presentation was also made to Southend Station Commander Martyn Hodder who is set to retire at the end of the month. The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrated the decades of dedicated service Martyn has given as part of ECFRS.

Site by Pingala Media