Essex County Fire and Rescue Service


Ford award for road rescue team

The Service’s extrication team have won an award from Ford in recognition of the partnership work which helped them qualify for the World Rescue Organisation Challenge.

The team received the award as part of Ford Motor Company’s Chairman’s Leadership Awards for Diversity 2015 which took place at the car giant’s Dunton site on December 3 in recognition of the partnership work they have been doing with Ford to help drive forward good practice and the achievement of business goals.

Also present at the awards ceremony with the team was Simon Falzon – Ford Dunton and On-Call Firefighter at Witham Fire Station. Simon has been instrumental in making this partnership happen by providing vehicles to cut up, access to technical expertise as well as organising the loan of the now very familiar RTC Extrication Team minibus

Divisional Officer Nigel Dilley, RTC Extrication Team Manager, received the award on behalf of the team. He said: “It is a great honour to receive this award on behalf of Essex County Fire and Rescue Service. It celebrates the excellent partnership work that has been in place for a number of years.

“The ceremony also gave us a chance to thank Ford Dunton for their support in helping to develop the RTC Extrication Team, allowing us to represent the United Kingdom at the World Rescue Organisation Challenge in Portugal in October this year. Thanks to their help we qualified to take part in the international championships where the team achieved a very respectable 14th place out of 34, something we could never have achieved without the support of Ford Dunton.”

Acting Chief Fire Officer Adam Eckley said: “This is great example of partnership working and it  shows what can be achieved through hard work and dedication. I would like to say well done to all involved.”

Nigel was joined at the ceremony by RTC extrication team members Sub Officer Kevin Mitson, Sub Officer Jeremy Tuckwell, Firefighter Kelvin Tuckwell and Station Officer Adrian Richardson. The rest of the team - Sub Officer Antony Clement, Sub Officer Nick Singleton and Firefighter Mick Lawrence – were unable to attend the ceremony.

Site by Pingala Media