Essex County Fire and Rescue Service


Fire Cadets complete Bronze awards

More than 70 teenagers from across the County have passed their Fire Cadet and Bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards.

ECFRS Fire Cadets from Clacton, Dovercourt, Great Baddow, Harlow, Orsett and Southend Fire Stations have finished our 41 week Fire Cadet programme.

As part of the scheme, the cadets have to complete six home safety visits, two expeditions, a physical activity each week for three months and a weekly visit to their local fire station.

To celebrate completing the programme, every Fire Cadet across the six stations takes part in a special pass out in front of their family and friends before receiving their Duke of Edinburgh pin badges and portfolios.

At Clacton’s pass out on Tuesday July 19, the cadets were congratulated by Senior Divisional Officer, Julian Ashley, and Mark Stagg, the Service’s Director of Transformation.

The ceremony included hose and breathing apparatus suit demonstrations and, mock rescues and extrications.

The Service’s Fire Cadets also received a prestigious AQA award and can now work towards their Silver Duke of Edinburgh award as part of this scheme.

SDO Ashley said: “We’re extremely proud of our Fire Cadets on the achieving their Bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards.

“They have worked extremely hard over the past 41 weeks to overcome many challenges and have shown real commitment towards becoming Fire Cadets, who we know will make a positive difference in their communities.”

Donna Finch, Community Development and Safeguarding Manger, said: “Our Fire Cadet programme is leading the way in helping young people build a solid foundation to start their independent adult lives.

“Our team and instructors have put in a great deal of hard work to make the programme a success. Their enthusiasm and commitment has resulted in 70 young people receive prestigious Duke of Edinburgh Bronze awards.

“We’re looking forward to seeing dozens of teenagers pass their Gold and Silver Duke of Edinburgh awards through our Fire Cadet programme in coming months.”

The following Fire Cadets have passed their Fire Cadet and Bronze Duke of Edinburgh awards:

Baddow: Aaron Glover, Archie Caterill, Charlie McDonald, Darci Sparks, Ekaete Nkanga, Ibrahim Asham, Jeska Bayford, Katie Warburton, Rosie Shanahan, Rhys Wilson and Tommy Pipe.

Clacton: Alex Newman, Archie Woodiwiss, Caitlin Chapelhow, Danielle Pomfrett, Hannah Woodiwiss, Jack Butcher, James Heap, Liam Willis, Marcus Buchanan, Mia Fowler, Mikey Knight, Nathan Fishlock and Zac McIntyre.

Dovercourt: Archie Barrington, Charlie Smith, Connor Sharrod, Euan Piper, Harry Cook, Jake White, Jonty Rhodes, Kane Conner, Leon Harris, Max Davies, Owen Priestnell, Tom Petley and Zach Keeley.

Harlow: Adella Demou, Brandan Chitty, Brandon Swift, James Smith-Pryor, Jessica Pettafor, Keanu Jackson, Kristians Maderis, Luan O’Neil and Nathan Askew.

Orsett: Annabel Hutchinson, Brennan Wood, Caitlin Collings, Cezary Winiecki, Chloe Binks, Katie Evans, Kira Tipping, Louis Ayres, Lucy Soanes, Megan McCluskey, Naa Natson-Aryee, Rhiannon Holbrook, Sam Wright and Shannon Dann.

Southend: Abigail Boreham, Alex Tucker, Archie Eaglestone, Billy Edwards, Billy Gibbons, Daniel Seaman, George Brown, Jamie Cowling, Rhys Bollen and Sonny Kemp.

Site by Pingala Media